Horizon Report Tech Trend

After viewing the Horizon Report 2012 summary video and reading a lot of the actual report, I thought I would try to write a lesson that utilizes the classroom set of TI-Nspires that our district purchased for every teacher involved in teaching our 2011 the curriculum adoption. This way I could write a new geometry lesson plan that all the teachers in our district could use as well as any teacher that teaches geometry. The lesson plan includes three critical components including a wireless mobile device, Complex Instruction, and Discovering Geometry section 2.5.

If you are unfamiliar with the new Nspires and how they work, they could fall under the category of mobile devices and their increasing use over the next year or two. Texas Instruments (TI) has rapidly turned these calculators into wireless mobile devices for mathematics classrooms. When a teacher also has a TI-Navigator system to link to all the calculators in the room, the teacher can send pre-made documents to students to complete the work described or have students completely create their own document which is what my lesson does for this assignment. The Navigator also allows the teacher to view what all students are doing on their screens, and collect information from students, such as completed documents, polling results and even quizzes. In my building, one teacher does all of his quizzes in this manner now and the quizzes are automatically scored for the teacher giving the teacher and student immediate feedback about student understanding.

Because this mobile device is already readily available in my mathematics classroom, and many others, I chose to write a lesson plan utilizing the Nspire calculator as a mobile device. I chose this mobile device because students are eager to get any mobile device in their hands. They are so intrigued to learn and use technology in any venue, it makes sense that we do it in the classroom to maintain student attention. Also, one of the applications available is a geometry program allowing students to design pictures and measure accurately the results of the situation. The geometry program allows teachers to design lessons that more quickly allow students to discover relationships and therefore students retain the information better and have ownership to their knowledge. This lesson specifically addresses discovering the relationships with linear pair angles and vertical angles.

Also involved with this lesson plan is a group learning technique called Complex Instruction (CI). CI is an amazing way to organize your classroom for successful group work. Before I was trained about using the CI technique last year, my group work in the math classroom was mostly ineffective and allowed too many students to “opt out” of the activity. CI changed all that for me. In just one school year, my group discovering activities have been extremely successful.

The following outlines the main ideas of the lesson:

The task card mentioned can be found on my school district website in the files I provide for students to access when absent:

Task Card for Lesson Plan

The idea behind a task card is to give students guidance throughout the activity. The CI training emphasized to only give out one task card for every two students which is to encourage those sitting together to work together. I noticed it brought kids into an opportunity to have a conversation about the activity. Task cards work very well.

I greatly enjoyed completing this assignment as it is a lesson I plan to use next school year instead of the activity students did using patty paper, rulers, protractors and pencil. Although the activity I had in place was successful, I will prefer this lesson using the Nspire mobile devices. I think my students will enjoy it also!

The AECT Standards that apply to this assignment are numerous. Standard 1.1 applies because you really need to design the lesson such that a mobile device will be effective to gain the desired results. Standard 1.2 and 1.3 apply because you need to think through the various ways in which the lesson will physically flow smoothly throughout from start to finish. Standard 2.1 is relevant due to the printed task card being an integral part of Complex Instruction. And because the mobile device is the Nspire calculator, a computer-based technology, then 2.3 is a significant standard. Finally, Standard 4.1 is relevant due to the Complex Instructional design used throughout the school year in my classroom.

4 Comments

Filed under 1.1 Instructional Systems Design, 1.2 Message Design, 1.3 Instructional Strategies, 2.1 Print Technologies, 2.3 Computer-Based Technologies, 4.1 Project Management, EdTech 501

4 responses to “Horizon Report Tech Trend

  1. Katie Sisson

    Angie, this is such a great lesson! Being a math teacher as well, I can definitely find ways of incorporating this into my classroom as well. Unfortunately I only have one TI Inspire calculator, you are very luck to have a classroom set. Even though I only have one TI Inspire calculator I can think of ways to alter this lesson plan just a bit and use my CPS clickers and iPads to accomplish the same task. For some reason the “task card” you attached didn’t show up for me, I was just curious to see how you set that up. Great work!

    • thanks for the great feedback Katie! I am curious about the task card not showing up for you. Did the link take you to my website okay? I kept it a word document because of the math symbols I was using from math type. I can e-mail it to you if you want.

  2. I enjoyed reading this lesson plan. When I originally read it, I thought that I had no idea how you were teaching the lesson to students. Then, after reading your embedded document twice, I read past it and saw the link to the task card.

    You made me curious about the Complex Instruction technique. I also try to incorporate group work into my classes, but it sometimes leads to unequal levels of work by different students. You gave me one more thing to add to my reading list.

  3. It’s awesome that you have the mobile technology for each student! I also really like how you have included each level of Blooms Taxonomy in your lesson plan. Your explanation is clear and well written. Great job!

Leave a Reply

